Home

I am writing to you on the way home from She Speaks, an incredible conference by Proverbs 31 Ministries, now in its eleventh year.

She Speaks is a fabulous (and spiritually mind-blowing) weekend where Christian women can grow and discern their calling in speaking, writing or women’s ministry. Out of this world speakers and leaders this weekend included Lysa TerKeurst and Ann Voskamp.

One of the sweetest surprises included the gift of free books! Most of the P31 authors and their publishers donated their recent titles, and then the authors signed their books. I was in heaven!

One book I was given was Renee Swope’s A Confident Heart. It’s brand new, so I grabbed it to read on the plane. I stopped at the title page where Renee signed it along with writing “Luke 1:45.”

So, here in the food court in the Cincinnati airport, I cracked open my cute travel Bible. The verse comes from Elizabeth, Mary’s relative, when she receives a visit from Mary. Elizabeth who is carrying the future John the Baptist, exclaims when she hears Mary’s voice. The unborn John leaps in Elizabeth’s womb.

“Blessed is she who has believed that what the Lord has said to her will be accomplished.”

I thank Renee for tucking this verse into a stranger’s book. It sums up what I experienced at She Speaks. Until I was surrounded by 650 women who were also trying to figure out God’s call on their heart, I thought I was alone. Or crazy for thinking that God wanted me to write or speak for Him.

And then I was surrounded by hundreds of women just like me who were also starting with the glimmer of a ministry seed. And through the teaching and godly inspiration of the leaders combined with faith, I now have a confident heart that God can accomplish so much through all of our ministries—no matter how small our beginning.

Thank you, P31, for your leadership and servanthood this weekend! I am forever changed.

20110724-080435.jpg

Meeting Ann Vos Kamp after her keynote talk Saturday night. She is seriously the nicest person.

20110724-080928.jpg

My food court table at the airport.

20110724-081559.jpg
Melissa Taylor, my awesome Speaker Group leader. This woman can encourage!

4 thoughts on “She Speaks

  1. Jen, it was so wonderful dad and I could be with you in Charlotte, It was our pleasure to drive up from SC and spend a little time with you.
    Thank you, Lord, for getting you safely back to your sweet family.
    Mom

  2. Loved meeting you at the book signing during lunch and then seeing you again in Ann’s line. Oh how I love knowing that God is speaking to your heart. Keep seeking, hoping and believing HIM!!

  3. It was great to meet you, too! I have a funny story for you. I was at the Charlotte airport and a cute gal sat down beside me to change out of her fancy shoes. When she opened her suitcase, she had like three or four copies of your book, Renee! I smiled to myself. She was obviously bringing gifts home for her loved ones. Love it!

  4. Pingback: How to Be Happy | I Love Your Work, Jonathan Fenske

Leave a Reply

