Home

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the divine nature and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.” 2 Peter 3-4 
 

I was extremely blessed to attend Deeper Still with Beth Moore, Kay Arthur and Priscilla Shirer this weekend here in Denver. If you are a Ms. Beth fan as I am, and someone who has been laid bare by her amazing teaching, then you know what it means to sit in the same room with her (and 5,000 of your closest gal pals.) 
 

It was hard to sit still when she walked up on stage Friday night. I didn’t really try too hard to be still–I kind of bounced up and down. I told my cousins, S & A, who flew in from Dallas for the event, that I might embarrass us all by running up on stage and hugging Mama Beth. Somehow, I got through the weekend without incident.  
 

My favorite discovery of the weekend was Priscilla Shirer. This woman can preach it. Plus, she’s really funny, pretty and has fantastic delivery. I literally hung on her every word.  
 

Priscilla’s teaching was around 2 Kings 13:4-20. I won’t try to do her awesome message justice, but I will tell you something I took away that touched me deeply. She talked about the promises of God that are in the Bible–some 8,000 of them. They are all within our reach, but not necessarily in our hand. Priscilla went on to say that she wants to experience all that God has for her. To do this, we have to reach. We have to be willing to let God show He is God. And that means getting into that often uncomfortable place where we are called to stretch, reach and otherwise inch out of our comfort zone.  
 

This week, I was offered an incredible opportunity by my friend, S. S’s friend (also named S.) was having part of her large Denver backyard garden removed because it was too overwhelming. The yard had been the 25-year-legacy of the previous owner. The landscapers were coming in a few days. S. asked: did I want some free, native, mature Colorado perennials?  
 

The day of the plant removal, storms raged across the Front Range. Rare rain soaked lawns and lightning cracked in the sky. Home beckoned and I missed the girls after a long day of work. It would have been very easy to forget the shovel and gloves that I had packed and just pass on the entire thing. The work–the reaching–seemed too much trouble.  
 

But I am a frugal chickadee, and the lure of the free garden was too powerful. So I drove thirty minutes south and arrived at the quaintest bungalow you’ve ever seen. And in the back…there were no words. A fantasy garden awaited me and it was all free for the taking. S. was a delightful host and generously offered as many plants as I desired, a rain jacket and help carrying the loot to the car.  
 

To get the plants, I had to prepare, dig, sweat and haul plants to the car. If I had stayed home, I would have missed the blessing. I would have never seen the garden. Yarrow, hollyhock, native grasses, daisies, dianthus–they would have passed me by.  
 

Priscilla’s message is burned on my heart: Where in my life can I reach? How can I show the Lord that I trust Him and his promises? Because I want so badly to walk life with Him, our footsteps intertwined as we make our way through a rain-soaked garden as graceful, wet leaves drop gently before us.  
 
 
 

4 thoughts on “Promises, Promises

  1. Jennifer,
    I’m so glad to know that you were encouraged by the message on Saturday night. I pray that God will continue to use it in your life as you seek to “reach” and experience Him in all the astounding ways that He has planned.
    Thanks for sharing the weekend with me. It sure was fun!
    Priscilla
    PS. . .I’ll probably be posting a wee v-log and some photos on our blog tomorrow. Hope you get to enjoy it.
    Bless you sis.

  2. Jen
    Your stories always inspire me! What an amazing weekend….Beth Moore and Priscilla Shirer I have enjoyed their bible studies, but would love a weekend with them!! What a blessing! Send pictures of your new garden. How wonderful to look in you backyard and be reminded of God’s blessings!!
    One of your favorite readers,
    LeAnn

Leave a Reply

