Home

It was one of those nights. The kind where some child needs something and it can only be found at Walgreens late at night: Pedialite, poster board, Pull-Ups. And it was also one of those nights where I lunged for the keys and said with grave sincerity, “I would be glad to go out. You just stay here.”

Because sometimes (and you know what I mean) the house can get stifling and a trip to Walgreens or King Soopers or Target takes on an air that you are getting away with something, that if your children only knew what hijinks you were up to, they would rise like zombies in their footie pajamas and descend the stairs, moaning and rolling their eyes at you. You, who are dreaming of selecting just the perfect shade of Rimmel lipstick, the naughty mommy who wants to get out of the house.

And so I donned the coat and hat, plus boots and ventured out into the snow.

The truth was, I had an agenda. Sure, there was the lipstick and the Pull-Ups, but there was also a small office supply to find at Walgreens: a little wirebound deck of 50 ruled index cards.

You see, I planned to memorize Scripture. And Ms. Beth Moore said I needed this modest item. The plan was to jot down the verses I planned to memorize and then refer to them from time to time to get it in my head. Because, with all that life throws at you, who doesn’t need at least a zillion verses rolling through your head? I know I do.

Memorizing Scripture has always been a weak spot for me. I guess I was lazying out on it, but it just seemed too hard or I didn’t know how to begin or whatnot. But a few days before the Walgreens trip, I stumbled upon Beth’s (yes, we’re on a first-name basis. In my head.) Scripture memorization team. Amazing woman that she is, she organized an entire year of hundreds of women memorizing verses during 2009. She did some informal videos on how to pick your memory verses (hint: it’s up to you) and then this group of women did a year of memorization. Then they met in Texas and whooped it up in celebration. I am not kidding.

I was a year late to the party, but I figured I could just do my own thing. And so I ended up at Walgreens buying the aforementioned index cards.

My humble memory card book, plus Sleepytime tea and my prayer journal, gift of my friend, LeAnn.

Let me tell you friends, it’s the best $1.99 I have ever spent. I’ve only been memorizing for about a month, and I have four verses in there, but it’s amazing. I leave it on the car seat next to me and when I am at a stoplight, I practice my memorization. It goes along in my purse to lunch meetings. If I am waiting on a friend, I can practice. On the back of each card is a short prayer list, so while I’m meditating on the verses (or trying to cram them into my poor, tired little brain), I can pray for those on the cards.

That fourth verse I am memorizing is from Ephesians 5:1-2: “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”

Next time, I’ll write it from memory. I’m almost there.

3 thoughts on “A Treasure at Walgreens

  1. Pingback: Measure by Measure « Pale As a Pearl

Leave a Reply

